Students win first prize in 2018 ASC Supercomputer Challenge


In the just-concluded finals of the 2018 ASC Student Supercomputer Challengea student team from Zhejiang University claimed the first prize.

The Certificate and Trophy Obtained

The finals were held in Nanchang, Jiangxi Province by Nanchang University during May 5 – May 9. Twenty teams from universities including Tsinghua University, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, National University of Defense Technology, ShanghaiTech University, Hong Kong Baptist University, Taiwan Tsinghua University, Saint Petersburg State University, Texas A&M University, University of Miskolc participated in the finals. The finalists have been selected from more than 300 teams around the world through rigorous preliminary competitions.

ZJU team wins the first prize

Three stages of competitions were involved in the 5-day competition: The first stage is about building a super computer cluster and a debugging environment within two days; The second stage is evaluation of the super computer cluster’s calculation capabilities and the optimization of its application performance; The last stage is the oral defense.

Inspired by their slogan “Unlimited core, infinite possibilities”, the ZJU team managed to set up a cluster on the spot and tried their best to solve every problem, which reflected the ZJU spirit of breaking through your own limits.

Installation and configuration of the cluster

Attacking the problem


The ASC Students Supercomputer Challenge was initiated by China and co-sponsored by Asia Supercomputing Association and Inspur Group. The competition aims to promote talent mobility and training, and encourage technology and industry innovation. The Challenge has been held for seven times so far. Presently, it is the largest and most participated supercomputing event for students worldwide. Up until now, in the ASC challenges ZJU has won four first prizes and one world’s highest computing performance award, and has also broken one world record.

ZJU team

In the 2018 ASC Challenge, the ZJU team were led by two teachers from the College of Computer Science and Technology, CHEN Jianhai and SHEN Qinxian. Other team members include: YU Zhengyun, WU Fan, SUN Yaozhu, SHI Ge and YANG Xuanda (participators); JIAN Haoran, YUAN Pubo, CHEN Yan and XU Qiyuan (observers).

Source: College of Computer Science and Technology