Four Professors Newly Elected Chinese Academicians

2017-12-01 Global Communications

The Chinese Academy of Engineering (CAE) and the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) have unveiled the list of newly elected members in 2017. Four professors from Zhejiang University have won this honorable title thanks to their remarkable research achievements.

ZHU Lizhong

ZHU Lizhong, a professor at the College of Environmental and Resource Sciences, has been elected as a CAE member. Professor ZHU has long been dedicated to research into control over microbiological interfacial behaviors of pollutants and mitigation technologies concerning organic contaminated soils and water.

Donald Grierson

Donald Grierson, a professor at the College of Agriculture and Biotechnology, has been elected as a foreign CAE member. Professor Grierson is the first researcher to identify and characterize genes for polygalacturonase, pectinesterase and phytoene synthase.

WU Zhaohui, president of ZJU and a professor at the College of Computer Science and Technology, and YANG Deren, a professor at the School of Materials Science and Engineering, have been elected as CAS members.

WU Zhaohui

Professor WU has long been committed to research in computer science and technology and has made innovative achievements in cyborg intelligence, which combines artificial and biological intelligence.

YANG Deren

Professor YANG focuses his research on monocrystalline silicon materials in very-large-scale integration (VLSI), solar cell materials, silicon photonics, nano-silicon materials and nano semi-conductor materials.

According to education research agency Cingta, a total of 11 ZJU professors have been elected as Chinese academicians over the past decade, following Tsinghua (26) and Peking (25) on the ranking. Meanwhile,of the 128 academicians newly elected this year, nine received their bachelor’s degrees from ZJU, placing ZJU on the very top among Chinese universities.